Quick Answer: What Are The Four Stages Of Cultural Competence?

What does cultural humility look like?

Cultural humility is a humble and respectful attitude toward individuals of other cultures that pushes one to challenge their own cultural biases, realize they cannot possibly know everything about other cultures, and approach learning about other cultures as a lifelong goal and process..

What are the 6 imperatives of intercultural communication?

For our purposes, an imperative will be an important or compelling reason. Martin & Nakayama (2011) identify the six imperative categories as peace, demographic, economic, technological, self-awareness, and ethical.

What are the stages of cultural competence?

The Cross framework emphasizes that the process of achieving cultural competency occurs along a continuum and sets forth six stages including: 1) cultural destructiveness, 2) cultural incapacity, 3) cultural blindness, 4) cultural pre-competence, 5) cultural competency and 6) cultural proficiency.

What are the two levels of culture?

The LevelsInternational: this is divided into two categories: Western culture and Eastern culture. … National: Just as the word implies, we’re talking about a country’s culture. … Regional: Nations are frequently divided into regions. … State-level: Within regions, there are often states, provinces, or territories.More items…

How do you develop intercultural communication competence?

10 Tips for Improving Your Intercultural Communication SkillsDo your homework. … Ask. … Avoid colloquialisms, jokes, and idioms. … Practice actively listening and observing. … Repeat or confirm what you think was being said. … Don’t ask yes or no questions. … Pay attention to nonverbal communication. … Speak slowly and clearly.

What are three levels of culture?

Schein divided an organization’s culture into three distinct levels: artifacts, values, and assumptions.

What are the 6 cultural systems?

There are six cultural systems that are most relevant for those who wish to lead with cultural intelligence: economic, marriage and family, educational, legal and political, religious, and artistic.

What are the four levels of culture?

One of the basic tenets of culture is that it consists of levels and sublevels. It is useful to think about culture in terms of five basic levels: national, regional, organizational, team, and individual. Within each of these levels are tangible and intangible sublevels of culture.

What is an example of cultural competence?

For example, educators who respect diversity and are culturally competent: have an understanding of, and honour, the histories, cultures, languages, traditions, child rearing practices. value children’s different capacities and abilities. respect differences in families’ home lives.

What are the three components of cultural competence?

Cultural competence comprises four components: (a) Awareness of one’s own cultural worldview, (b) Attitude towards cultural differences, (c) Knowledge of different cultural practices and worldviews, and (d) cross-cultural skills.

What two or three strategies can you use to develop cultural competence?

Embrace DiversityValue Diversity. Respect all cultures. … Self-Awareness. Recognize any personal biases against people of different cultures and work to eliminate them.Awareness and Acceptance of Differences. … Dynamics of Differences. … Accept Responsibility. … Knowledge of Patient’s Culture. … Adaptation.

What are the most critical elements of IC competence?

The three most critical elements of intercultural communication competence are knowledge, skills and attitudes.

What are the five elements of cultural competence?

Contained within this guide is a walkthrough of the five building blocks of cultural competence: open attitude, self-awareness, awareness of others, cultural knowledge, and cultural skills.

What are the four levels of intercultural communication competence?

Fantini [11] divided intercultural competence into four dimensions which are intercultural knowledge, intercultural attitude, intercultural skill and intercultural awareness.

How do you develop cultural competence?

These attributes will guide you in developing cultural competence:Self-knowledge and awareness about one’s own culture.Awareness of one’s own cultural worldview.Experience and knowledge of different cultural practices.Attitude toward cultural differences.Apr 14, 2020